E-mailEmployee Services PortalGEBCorp
Holiday Schedule

We will be closed the following days in 2017:

Monday January 16

President's Day
Monday February 20

Good Friday
Friday April 14

Memorial Day
Monday May 29

Independence Day
Monday July 3
Tuesday July 4

Labor Day
Monday September 4

Thursday November 23
Friday November 24

Monday December 25

Community Facilities

Oglethorpe County has an excellent consolidated school system serving K-12, offering college preparatory, technical preparatory and vocational education. A modern Media Center, Technology Laboratory, Activities/ Physical Education facilities, Gymnasium and Athletics facilities are provided. Special Instructions Assistance Program are also available. A new Ag Center is under development. The Oglethorpe County Middle School has been recognized as a "Georgia School of Excellence". The University of Georgia, Gainesville College and the Athens Technical College are just 20 minutes from the heart of Oglethorpe County. The remains of the renowned Meson Academy are marked in Lexington.

The Oglethorpe County Library is part of the Athens Regional Library system offering an extensive computerconnected network, with Internet access, providing exceptional opportunities for research. The Library itself is housed in a beautiful 7,000-sq. ft. building with more than 23,000 volumes. A 100-seat meeting room is available for public use. It contains film & video facilities as well as space for art exhibits.

Health Care Services
Oglethorpe boasts a wide variety of health care services. Day-to-day medical/dental needs are served at two medical centers, a dental clinic, and the public health department. Two excellent hospitals, Athens Regional and St. Mary's are just next door in Clarke County along with other specialized health facilities.

Police, Fire and EMS
An efficient Sheriff's Department, 14 Volunteer Fire Departments, civil defense rescue, and the EMS quarters in Crawford afford Oglethorpe citizens good response to emergencies.


Population: 14,899 (2010 Census)
Total Area: 441.1 Square miles

Cities and Towns

Lexington (County Seat)